Why I will not “unfriend” anyone.

This past elections has been very emotional for many people.  Some feel that the end of civilization is nigh, others feel that their opinions where vindicated, some feel we are progressing, others that we are degenerating.  It does not matter what name each group calls themselves, they seem to be interchangeable.

Do not get me wrong.  I have my own biases.  However, with this omnipresent divide we see in politics I see more admirable qualities in the people around me, more things we have in common, than how political pundits wants to define us.

We all have our opinions.  We all have our passions.  Sometimes we post some bat-shit crazy stuff online.  Is that the definition of who we are?

I know a woman at work.  She is a cancer survivor.  She shows up to work every day to walk miles delivering our internal mail.  Does she post some bat-shit crazy stuff?  Yes she does.  Do I want to unfriend her?  Hell no!  I admire her.  I admire her strong work ethic.  I admire her passion for our veterans.  I admire her love of her grandchildren.  She is a great person I would be proud to call my friend.  I do not want politics to define our relationship.

I know a man at work.  His wife and son died within a year of each other.  A horrible tragedy I do not want to imagine.  Does he post bat-shit crazy stuff?  Yes he does.  Do I want to unfriend him?  Hell no!  I admire him.  I admire his dedication to show up to work every day.  I admire his sacrifice to give his grandchildren a good stable life.  I admire his constant optimism.  He is also someone I am proud to call my friend.  I do not want politics to define our relationship.

I have so much in common with these people and many others.  We worry about our jobs.  We love our children.  We are concerned about the future.  We struggle and survive together. These people are that friend with a pickup truck that helps you move.  These people are that friend that consoles you when a loved one passes away.  These people are that friend that helps you rebuild your house when it burns down.

From my perspective, I may think they post some bat-shit crazy stuff, but I will not let politics define the relationship of us as a people.   I will not let an ambitions person, running for any office, pushing any agenda, define my relationship to these hardworking, dedicated and passionate people because of a contrive political perspective.

I will not unfriend you.

 

Leave a Reply

